Lectures

Learn from noted horticulturists and top industry professionals in our popular JCRA lectures. From new plant introductions, green industry trends, and exotic exploration trips in search of new plants, we cover a variety of timely, cutting edge topics that appeal to both home and professional gardeners.

Along with specially scheduled lectures, our monthly Friends of the Arboretum Lecture series covers the entire spectrum of horticulture. FOA Lectures are free for members and $5.00 for guests.

Upcoming Lectures

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
"Winter Gardening: Dreaming of Gardening on a Cold Winters' Day"
Leah Dail, Wake County Extension Master Gardener
Monday, January 27, 2020 – 10:00 am

North American Rock Garden Society (Piedmont Chapter) Lecture
Cohosted by the Piedmont Chapter of the North American Rock Garden Society and the JC Raulston Arboretum
"Hiking from Georgia to Maine: Wildflowers of the Appalachian Trail"
Will Hembree
Saturday, February 8, 2020 – 10:00 am

Friends of the Arboretum Lecture
"Botanical Treasures of New Zealand and Australia"
Pat McCracken, Garden Treasures
Thursday, February 13, 2020 – 7:30 pm

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
"Lawns: Their Establishment, Maintenance and Renovation"
Dennis Graban, Wake County Extension Master Gardener
Monday, February 24, 2020 – 10:00 am

Friends of the Arboretum Lecture
"Gardening with a Bunch of Pricks—Hardy Cactus for North Carolina Gardens"
Tony Avent, Plant Delights Nursery and Juniper Level Botanic Garden
Thursday, March 12, 2020 – 7:30 pm

North American Rock Garden Society (Piedmont Chapter) Lecture
Cohosted by the Piedmont Chapter of the North American Rock Garden Society and the JC Raulston Arboretum
"Spring Alpines of the Spanish Pyrenees"
Todd Boland, St. John’s, Newfoundland, NARGS Traveling Speaker
Saturday, March 21, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Cynthia Sollod, Wake County Extension Master Gardener
Monday, March 23, 2020 – 10:00 am

Friends of the Arboretum Lecture
"Healthy Trees, Happy People, Vibrant Planet"
Basil Camu, Leaf & Limb
Thursday, April 9, 2020 – 7:30 pm

North American Rock Garden Society (Piedmont Chapter) Lecture
Cohosted by the Piedmont Chapter of the North American Rock Garden Society and the JC Raulston Arboretum
"NARGS Fall-Bulbs of Greece Tour"
Cyndy Cromwell, Nancy Doubrava, and David White, Piedmont Chapter Members
Saturday, April 18, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, April 27, 2020 – 10:00 am

Friends of the Arboretum Lecture
Thursday, May 14, 2020 – 7:30 pm

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, May 25, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, June 22, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, July 27, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, August 24, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, September 28, 2020 – 10:00 am

Gardening Adventures with Extension Master Gardener Volunteers
Monday, October 26, 2020 – 10:00 am