Classes and Courses

Taught by experts, our one-day classes and multi-day courses offer detailed instruction covering a variety of garden related topics. New classes and courses are regularly added to meet the needs of the community. Prices vary.

Upcoming Classes and Courses

Photography Walk
"Visual Storytelling: Capturing a Sense of Place with Your Camera"
Mary Louise Ravese, Bella Vista Photography
Thursday, August 29, 2019 – 8:30 am
Register

Caring for Your Home Landscape: A Month by Month Approach
Bryce Lane, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Emeritus and Lecturer Emeritus, Department of Horticultural Science, NC State University
Mondays, September 9 through November 4, 2019 – 6:30 pm–8:30 pm (No class on Monday, October 14)
Register

Crepe Myrtle Pruning Class and Demonstration
"A Tale of Love, Murder, and Proper Pruning"
Basil Camu, Treecologist, Leaf & Limb
Saturday, September 14, 2019 – 9:00 am
Register

Photography Walk
"Going Beyond Snapshot Photography with Your iPhone Camera"
Mary Louise Ravese, Bella Vista Photography
Thursday, September 26, 2019 – 10:00 am
Register

Recreational Tree Climbing at the JCRA
Open to Youths and Adults
Patrick Brandt, Piedmont Tree Climbing
Saturday, September 28, 2019 – 10:00 am, 11:00 am, 12:00 pm, 1:30 pm, 2:30 pm, 3:30 pm, 4:30 pm, and 5:30 pm

The Nature of Drawing: Autumn Sketchbook
Preston Montague, Landscape Designer and Botanical Illustrator
Saturday, October 12, 2019 – 10:00 am
Register

Photography Walk
"Top Tips for Photographing Fall Color"
Mary Louise Ravese, Bella Vista Photography
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 – 10:00 am

Propagating Woody Plants from Seed
Bryce Lane, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Emeritus and Lecturer Emeritus, Department of Horticultural Science, NC State University
Saturday, October 26, 2019 – 9:00 am
Register

Designers Preview Night
John Garner, Southern Lights of Raleigh
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 – 7:00 pm
Register

Photography Walk
"Making Custom Holiday Cards Using Digital Art Based on Your Photographs"
Mary Louise Ravese, Bella Vista Photography
Friday, November 22, 2019 – 11:00 am

Weather Class
Saturday, March 28, 2020 – 9:00 am