Tours

With over 9,000 specimens across more than 6,000 species, there's always something wonderful to see on a JCRA walking tour.

Weekly tours led by Arboretum volunteers take place on Sunday afternoons at 2:00 PM (March through October) and are free to the public. Group tours are also available for parties of 10 or more. Contact Chris Glenn to request a private tour.

Or you can tour the garden with Mark Weathington, assistant director and curator of collections. Mark's monthly tours have developed quite a following among gardeners of all skill levels, from beginners to professionals. Based on seasonal themes, these Arboretum walks are a great way to learn about gardening in North Carolina and the Southeast. Check the calendar for upcoming times and topics. Plantsmen's Tours are free for members and $5.00 for guests.

Upcoming Tours

Plantsmen's Tour
"Bright Spots for the Darkest Time of the Year"
Douglas Ruhren, Gardens Manager
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 – 1:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
"Winter Potpourri"
Mark Weathington, Assistant Director and Curator of Collections
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 – 1:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
"Peak of Winter Bloom"
Douglas Ruhren, Gardens Manager
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 – 1:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, March 1, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, March 1, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, March 8, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, March 15, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, March 22, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
"Spring Peeks"
Mark Weathington, Assistant Director and Curator of Collections
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 – 1:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, April 5, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, April 12, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, April 19, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, April 26, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 – 1:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 – 9:00 am
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 – 6:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, May 10, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, May 17, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, May 24, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, May 31, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 – 9:00 am
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 – 6:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, June 7, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, June 14, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, June 21, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, June 28, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, July 5, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, July 12, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, July 19, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, July 26, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 – 9:00 am
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 – 6:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, August 2, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, August 9, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, August 16, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, August 23, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, August 30, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 – 9:00 am
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 – 6:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 – 9:00 am
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 – 6:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, September 6, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, September 13, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, September 20, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, September 27, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Arboretum Guided Tour
Volunteer Tour Docent
Sunday, October 4, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, October 11, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, October 18, 2020 – 2:00 pm
Sunday, October 25, 2020 – 2:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 – 1:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 – 1:00 pm

Plantsmen's Tour
tba
tba
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 – 1:00 pm